Rumination

How is it that every time I look in the mirror,
I see an aura I would never choose to explore,
I see myself drowning in incompetence and hopelessness.
What is it that you see?

How is it that every time I look in the mirror,
I see the hollows beneath my eyes and they make me blue with just one look,
I see my ego feeding on my useless wisdom and suffering.
What is it that you see?

How is it that every time I look in the mirror,
I see the bold lips quirking up as they mock me,
I see the way my lethal tongue mercilessly assaults and criticizes all, regardless of my own lack of values.
What is it that you see?

How is it that every time I look in the mirror,
I see my posture drooping as though molten, my shoulders hang lower every time,
I see the faked confidence and lack of responsibility, breaking my once invincible armor.
What is it that you see?

How is it that every time I look in the mirror,
I see nothing but a reflection of everything that disgusts me,
Yet I see you cherish me like I’m the only means of your survival; your sanctuary, your comfort food, your aspirations and most importantly, your love.
So tell me oh blind one, what is it that you see?

Leave a Reply

